Nissan Navara website experience from better-deal.co.uk
Posted on | March 18, 2008 | Comments Off
I was following some Google links, due to the success of the listing for my Nissan Navara Long Way Down model, and I came across this interesting example of… in my opinion… how not to run your website. The company says : …Otherwise, it’ll be a huge mystery if you chose not to buy from us. – I will try to explain why this may be no mystery.
The Google Nissan Navara pick up link I found (a paid-for advert, not the free listings I appear in) was to a website called www.better-deal.co.uk.
I decided to look, as I just always wonder about these generically titled websites like “better deal” – I mean, they could be just anyone. There is no ID to them, really. I have nothing against them, these are just my opinions…
Their webpage promoting the Navara started off promisingly, with a wordy and genuine sounding ramble about why we should buy a Nissan Navara from them. It was personalised, but it wasn’t clear to me who was speaking. It wasn’t clear to me who “we”, “us”, “our”, referred to. Obviously “they” know who is speaking, but I don’t! Here we go…
—-
Yes, it’s absolutely true. You can SAVE up to £3,032 on a brand new Nissan Navara. (But only if you order before Friday 15th March 2008)
Let me explain…
This month, we’ve taken a big gamble and signed up for a manufacturer’s promotion that required us to take delivery of 15 brand new ’57 reg. Nissan Navaras – nearly £300,000.00 in stock (and for a small retailer like us, that’s a lot of money to be tied up in stock).
And 5 of these were sold – which leaves us with 10 to sell before the end of this month to qualify for the extra discounts.
And our problem is your opportunity…
In order to move these last 10 remaining trucks, we’ve decided to do something somewhat bold and a little daring. I’ll give you all the details about this sensational deal in a minute, but first let me tell you a little about these incredible vehicles:
First off, these are the latest specification 2008 model year 2.5 dCi Nissan Navara Pick-ups (i.e. they have the new alloys, wing mirrors, bluetooth etc.). They are genuine UK vehicles with delivery mileage. They are registered with the new 57 plate which came out at the beginning of September. Manuals and Automatics are available. If you want any extras such as hard tops, tonneau covers, bed liners etc. we can arrange for this too. Please call 0800 051 7595 for prices.
We were ready to hold a big sale and that means taking out costly ads in the national newspapers. But then someone here suggested, why not put an ad on the internet with a special preferential deal instead of paying for expensive newspaper ads?
So that’s exactly what we’re doing…
Now instead of advertising them at prices just below the internet competition (still a great price) we’d rather sell to you at prices much lower simply to move them along quickly. That means if you’ve ever wanted to buy a brand new Navara, but you’ve put it off because the price was too high, now’s the time to buy.
More good news: whether you’re a private or business purchaser we can arrange finance!
That’s right, we’ll be happy to arrange any type of financing* you require: hire purchase, leasing, personal contract purchase etc.etc. Please call us free on 0800 051 7595 for a quote. We use the Bank of Scotland who can offer extremely attractive interest rates.
But please don’t wait because we can only keep this special offer open until the 15th March. After that, if we still have any Navaras in stock, we’ll have to run the ads in the newspapers (and as this costs a lot more we’ll have to increase our prices).
I really hope you’ll be one of the ten lucky people to take advantage of this golden opportunity.
Hurry though, this letter will be read by hundreds of people searching the internet for the best Navara deals. And once they’re gone – that’s it!
Really, there’s really nothing left to say. We’ve done just about everything possible to get you the best deal on a New Navara. In fact, if there’s something we haven’t done (short of giving it away) that you think we should have – let us know. Otherwise, it’ll be a huge mystery if you chose not to buy from us.
—-
I told you it was wordy! Sounded good… and that last sentence got my attention. I will explain why it will not be a mystery if people choose not to buy from them: I began to look at other deals on their website:
—-
Nissan Note:
Yes, it’s absolutely true. You can SAVE £2,500 on a new Nissan Note. (But only if you order before Friday 15th March 2008).
Let me explain…
This month, we’ve taken a big gamble and signed up for a manufacturer’s promotion that required us to take delivery of 10 brand new ’57 reg. Nissan Notes – over £100,000.00 in stock (and for a small retailer like us, that’s a lot of money to be tied up in stock).
And 5 of these were sold – which leaves us with 5 to sell before the end of this month to qualify for the extra discounts…. etc
—-
And…
—-
Yes, it’s absolutely true. You can SAVE £3,000 on a brand new Nissan X-TRAIL. But only if you order before Friday 15th March 2008.
Let me explain…
This month, we’ve taken a big gamble and signed up for a manufacturer’s promotion that required us to take delivery of 8 brand new ’57 reg. Nissan X-Trails – nearly £200,000.00 in stock (and for a small retailer like us, that’s a lot of money to be tied up in stock).
And 4 of these were sold – which leaves us with 4 to sell before the end of this month to qualify for the extra discounts.
—-
…and it goes on, as you imagine. They have a lot of “BIG GAMBLES”, have signed up for many “MANUFACTURER’S PROMOTIONS” and have a lot of cars to sell before their self-imposed deadlines! Every deal is a “GOLDEN OPPORTUNITY”, every time they say how these purchases are stretching a “SMALL RETAILER” like them. They must have a car park full of Nissans! Good luck!
My other questions arise from their “about us” page… well, there is little about “them”, on it. You don’t get told who runs the business, nothing about any of the people, the only reference to a human I can find is a stock picture of an operative on the telephone. And if it’s a web-business, what is with all these extra-large telephone numbers, why not do the transactions online? At the bottom of the page, there is a reference that the site is owned by “Knibbs Ltd”, but there is no info about this company, apart from the registered office and the company number. Not very helpful to someone wanting to see who they will be potentially buying from. Humans like humans! And there is always a niggling doubt in my mind when full company identity is not disclosed.
I’ve got nothing against this company, they are probably very good. But the lack of information about humans, and the repetitive nature of their offers and their car deals (where in each case they have purchased – SHOCK! – too much stock) mean that it turned me off. Sorry, whoever you are.



























